Saturday, June 18, 2011

Grapha, Dragon God of the Dark World


LV 8/Dark/Fiend
2700/1800
You can return 1 face-up "Dark World" monster you control to the hand, except "Grapha, Dragon God of the Dark World", to Special Summon this card from your Graveyard. If this card is discarded from the hand to the Graveyard by a card effect, select 1 card your opponent controls and destroy it. If this card was discarded by an opponent's card effect, look at 1 random card in your opponent's hand also. If that card is a Monster Card, you can Special Summon it to your side of the field.

Many people are confused by the effects, so today we will be breaking it down so that it is easier to understand =D

=================================================
You can return 1 face-up "Dark World" monster you control to the hand, except "Grapha, Dragon God of the Dark World", to Special Summon this card from your Graveyard.
=================================================

Similar to Machina Fortress, this is a summoning condition that does not use the chain block. The correct way of summoning Grapha is bounce a "Dark World" monster, special summon this from grave, then ask if your opponent has any response such as Solemn Warning. It also means, you cannot use DD Crow on Grapha in response to this effect.

Q:それぞれの効果分類は何ですか?
A:自身を特殊召喚する効果はコストとして暗黒界を手札に戻しますが特に効果分類はなく、チェーンに乗りません(召喚ルール効果)(11/06/18)

=================================================
If this card is discarded from the hand to the Graveyard by a card effect, select 1 card your opponent controls and destroy it.
=================================================

"Discarded by card effect" is still confusing to some players. Dark World monsters work differently from Fabled monsters which do not care how it is discarded. Btw, this effect Targets a card on the field.

Yes ()

Card Destruction
Dragged Down to Grave
Morphing Jar
Dark World themed cards

No (X)

Cards that "send to grave" instead of "discard" - Hand Destruction, Zombie Master
Cards that are "discarded" as a "Cost" - Lightning Vortex, Raigeki Break

=================================================
If this card was discarded by an opponent's card effect, look at 1 random card in your opponent's hand also. If that card is a Monster Card, you can Special Summon it to your side of the field.
=================================================

As simple as it looks, when it is discarded by your opponent's card effect, you gain this additional effect. Grapha's effect becomes "destroy a card on the field, then see one of your opponent hand, then special summon it if it is a monster".

It also means this whole effect can be negated by Oppression or Solemn Warning since it includes an effect that "Special summons". You won't destroy any card or special summon any card, Solemn Warning is godly. You cannot use Oppression or Warning when your opponent is already looking at one of your hand since it is already at the resolution of effect. Do take note summoning condition still applies, don't take your opponent Dark Armed Dragon and special summon it from Graphar effect.

Q:相手によって捨てられた時、《王宮の弾圧》や《神の警告》で無効にできますか?
A:相手によって捨てられた時に発動した破壊する効果に対して発動できます。(11/06/18)

Source: 遊戯王カードWiki - 《暗黒界の龍神 グラファ》
Information taken on 18 Jun 2011.
If the Wiki is updated in the future and there is a change in rule, please do leave a comment.


Will have more Dark World related post in the future to understand the ruling. Don't get scammed =D

8 comments:

  1. Congrats Baha for going 5-0 in swiss today BTW.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just did a search for Grapha on the official OCG FAQ site (found here: http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp). There are currently NO official rulings on Grapha. None. Search results wielded nothing.

    I'm telling you this because I disagree with Grapha's Special Summoning ability not using the Chain. Every monster which summons itself from the Graveyard and nowhere else uses the Chain. A fine example is Quillbolt Hedgehog.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Then explain Machina Fortress.

    ReplyDelete
  4. He said "graveyard and nowhere else", machina fortress also summons itself from the hand, its summon precedure doesnt really differentiate between hand and grave, for example it can start the summon from the hand and end up being summoned from the graveyard. It is true that currently there is no monster which summons itself from the grave alone without using the chain, they are all effects (ignition, trigger)

    ReplyDelete
  5. It is ok that you guys disagree about the rulings on the Japanese wiki since it is "unofficial".

    I believe the FAQ found in the wiki are a result of people calling in the Japanese Konami hotline. Even Japanese players use that as reference as well.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Just a reminder to everyone that the Japanese wiki does not take all the info from just the official faq site. Rather, alot of info is also added by players who have called in the the Japanese Konami hotline, via Japanese forums with Japanese official judges to answer, etc.

    Granted that similar to YGO wikia, anybody can edit and change the information on wiki, but unlike wikia, it is not filled with rubbish pages created by random people, which should already say alot for its authenticity.

    If you want to doubt them, you can wait for your TCG rulings to give the TCG side of rulings when you receive the Sd, thats fine by us. Its just that for OCG, the wiki rulings are almost as official as they can get.

    ReplyDelete
  7. so he cannot be special summon if he discarded from ur hand rite? only if u return one of ur fiend monster to ur hand?

    ReplyDelete