Friday, March 18, 2011

Exceed Summoning Rulings

Hi guys, rulings for Exceed Summons are out! For the Japanese readers, you can head over to here. Meanwhile, just gonna do a complete translation for everything in the FAQ section.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Can you use face down face down monsters as Exceed materials?
A: No you may not

Q: When the Exceed monster is destroyed and sent to grave due to battle or by card effects, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: When the Exceed monster leaves field, the Exceed materials are sent to grave

Q: If Interdimensional Matter Transporter is used on an Exceed monster, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials are sent to grave

Q: If Compulsory Evacuation Device is used on an Exceed monster, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials are sent to grave

Q: If Book of Moon is used on an Exceed monster, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials stay on the field with the face down Exceed monster (Yes, the Exceed materials actually stay with the Exceed monster all the way)

Q: If Banisher of Radiance or Macrocosmos is on the field and the Exceed monster leaves field, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials are removed from game

Q: If Dimension Fissure is on the field and the Exceed monster leaves field, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials are sent to grave (Nope, not a translation error)

Q: If Mind Control is used on an opp's Exceed monster, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials' control moves together with the Exceed monster's control

Q: If Skill Drain is on the field and you Exceed Summon, what happens to the Exceed materials?
A: The Exceed materials are still placed on the Exceed monster

Q: Can a Zombie Carrier that is on the field through its revival effect be used as a Exceed material? If so, what happens to the Exceed materials? And what happens when the Exceed monster leaves the field?
A: You may use that Zombie Carrier as an Exceed material. When you use it as an Exceed material, the Zombie Carrier will become an Exceed Material for the Exceed monster. When the Exceed monster leaves the field, the Zombie Carrier goes to grave. (So yes, you can reuse it again)

Q: If a Sangan was used as an Exceed material, when it goes to grave, do you get the search effect?
A: When the Sangan becomes an Exceed material, it is no longer treated to be 'on the field', therefore you will not be able to search as it did not enter grave from field. (The same would apply to cards like DD Survivor, etc)

Q: If a Dandylion was used as an Exceed material, when it goes to grave, do you get the special summon token effect?
A: When the Dandylion becomes an Exceed material and is sent to grave, you will still get the special summon token effect. (Difference from Sangan is it does not have to enter grave from the field to get its effect. The same would apply to Jinzo Returner, DD Scout plane, etc)

Q: If a machine monster is an Exceed material, and a Cyber Dragon is on the field, can you contact for a Chimeratech Fortress Dragon?
A: You may not (Similar to Sangan's ruling, the Exceed materials are not considered to be on the field)

Q: If you have an Exceed monster on the field with Exceed materials, and your opponent activates Secret Barrel. Do you count the Exceed materials?
A: No, you do not include the Exceed materials (I guess consistent with its ruling for Sangan and such, Exceed materials are technically NOT on the field)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Other things not mentioned in the FAQ

Trap monsters can be used in the Exceed summon and they still go under the Exceed monster as an Exceed materials

Tokens cannot be used for Exceed summons. (No Phantom Skyblaster abuse for you)

Exceed materials are not considered to be on the field (Simiilar to the rulings for Sangan, etc in the FAQ), therefore you cannot target them with Thunder Break and other such cards.


Thats quite everything thats mentioned on the page. Hope the info was useful, got half an hour lesser sleep because of it. Enjoy~

34 comments:

  1. Joey, the noob haterMarch 18, 2011 at 2:50 AM

    Great Job and Fast Job. Thank You DS.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for posting this, I'll run a post at The Irish Duelist tomorrow for you.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Also, quick tip: Change your comment setting to enable embedded comment form.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Seriously Tokens cannot be used as Exceed Material ar? That sucks major balls.

    ReplyDelete
  5. what about synchro ?? what are the levels of the exceed monster?? ASpiring king hope= howmany stars ??
    or can it be used for synchro at all?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Exceed monsters have no level.

    The number of stars on it are now known as "Ranks" and they are not affected by cards that affects "Level".

    ReplyDelete
  7. Nice post!

    I'll post this on my blog too.
    Please come by if you have time. But it is in Indonesian.

    Here's the link :)
    http://florsheimbdg.blogspot.com/2011/03/florsheim-tips-exceed-summon-faqs.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. psst baha heres my idea run six sam exceeds utilizing red and blue combo

    ReplyDelete
  9. I can read Indonesian just fine.

    ReplyDelete
  10. haha.those ppl wasted their money on buying phantom skyblaster thinking they can use token as exceeds material and help those ppl to clear stock of old cards

    ReplyDelete
  11. Any confirmation on what happens if an Exceed Summon is negated? I saw a video of an exhibition match between a pirate and the guy who cosplays as Dr. Crowler from GX at major events in Japan that seemed to show what happens (Pirate used Solemn Judgment to negate an Exceed Summon, and then proceeded to lose to the monsters that would have been Exceed Materials, meaning they stay on the field), but I wanted to know if there was any other confirmation just in case.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Please rewatch the video.

    The monsters that are used for the exceed summon and the monsters that direct attacked are different monsters.

    ReplyDelete
  13. HAHA LAUGHING AT THOSE DUMBASSES WHO SPAMMED EBAY FOR PHANTOM SKYBLASTERS!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. OMG LOL!!!! SKYBLASTER EPIC FAAAAIILLLL~~~

    ReplyDelete
  15. [Trap monsters can be used in the Exceed summon and they still go under the Exceed monster as an Exceed materials]

    can we use mst or dust tornado on the trap monster ?

    ReplyDelete
  16. Any reason why you called it "Zombie Carrier" instead of "Plaguespreader Zombie"? You've used the U.S. names the rest of the time...

    ReplyDelete
  17. For SG, we use Sangan / Critter sparingly and when you mention either, you will still know its the same 3 eye ball everyone knows well.

    However, seldom in SG do we call Plaguespreader simply cause name is too long. We just call Zombie Carrier. Habbit i guess?

    ReplyDelete
  18. To anon, according to the rules, you can't affect the trap monster used as exceed material because while they are overlaid they don't really count as being on the field. They are not really there, thing of them more like counters than actual cards.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Question...do the big tournament or locals in Singapore allow TCG cards? Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  20. then is it legal to set 5 backrow if we have 2 Trap Monster used as exceed material ?

    ReplyDelete
  21. Yes because once it becomes an exceed material, it is not considered to be "on the field" anymore.

    ReplyDelete
  22. basically simple rule is that they are basically counters, they don't count as monsters or spells or traps of any kind, they are counters attached to the exceed monster. Except that when they leave the monster they have to go the graveyard (cfr. Plaguespreader etc) unless that's impossible (macro cosmos).

    The only exception to this rule is the book of moon bit, when they go facedown they don't leave the monster. (quick question, do you have to flip the materials facedown too ?)

    ReplyDelete
  23. Now that we have this ruling... Time to make some epically awesome decks... Thanks for your post now my blog will be able to start making Synchro/Exceed decks. And I can finally post that trap monster deck...

    ReplyDelete
  24. excced the beggars are horrible for anything I gustron CONAMI beggar does not know what it does not take shit so, or do you think?

    ReplyDelete
  25. wats happen if u solemn warning an exceed monster?

    ReplyDelete
  26. It dies along with all the materials.

    ReplyDelete
  27. can scrap chimera be used as a exceed monster???

    ReplyDelete
  28. what if the exceed monster is removed from play, does the material also remove from play?

    ReplyDelete
  29. What if I use Reborn Tengu as exceed material, isnt Reborn Tengu considered to leave the field, thus activating its effect?

    ReplyDelete
  30. The TCG has a contradicting rule regarding Reborn Tengu and using it to XYZ summon.

    Since it is a TCG exclusive card, it is best that you follow the current TCG rule for it.

    ReplyDelete
  31. i got a question? if i mind control a rank 4 exceed monster and i wanna use it as a synchro material. does it mean level 4 or rank 4? just wondering.

    ReplyDelete
  32. you can't use exceeds to synchro because they have ranks not levels

    ReplyDelete
  33. Is the hand and deck considered the field.

    ReplyDelete
  34. Is apple and banana considered an orange.

    ReplyDelete